Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | September 13, 2012

Am I smoking what I’m selling?

Last weekend I led a Spiritual Gifts workshop for our Church. I spoke about the use of Spiritual gifts, how they build up and encourage the Church and how we can start practicing them.

Spiritual gifts can be tricky things. You can’t manufacture up a word of knowledge or a prophecy or a healing- they are totally dependent on God. There is also no magic formula for having a gift. But I did give people practical ideas on how to ask God for these gifts, how to take an active part in Church worship times and seeking the Giver in personal quiet times.

The question I have to ask myself then is am I taking my own advice? Or, in the words or Rob Bell, ‘Am I smoking what I’m selling?’ It can be too easy when you teach on something to be insincere or hypocritical so instead I want to be true and passionate on this. Seeking to be filled with the Holy Spirit, praying in tongues frequently, getting into the Bible, asking God for words and pictures, praying for others, spending time in the presence of God, worshipping and singing and loving Him! Doing all this makes it much easier to share or contribute on a Sunday. Also living life more in step with the Spirit is a richer, more fun and exciting, more real way to live.

Roz and I are excited to imagine our Church full of the presence of the Holy Spirit more and more. We want to see the gifts of the Spirit in use more frequently, with greater impact. We want to see our worship as more and more passionate as we adore and love our Creator, Redeemer and Sustainer. We want to see others released in freedom full of the Holy Spirit.

Just as long as I make sure I’m smoking it, not just selling it. I want to make sure I eagerly desire Spiritual gifts too!

Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

