Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | July 16, 2012

The Kingdom of God

I preached at Church on Sunday about the Kingdom of God. It is something I don’t totally understand- but then I shouldn’t be able to really. We can’t see it or touch it, but we can enter the Kingdom of God now- while on earth, we can be saved into it.

My passport shows me to be a citizen of the United Kingdom. It makes me a foreigner here in Bolivia. I’m different, I have different customs- I don’t put sugar in my tea, I don’t put a mound of salt on my food; I have different ways of speaking and acting. Even though I fully live and work and have friends and eat Bolivian food, especially empanadas, here, my identity is as a citizen of the United Kingdom.

However, as a Christian, my passport say that I am a citizen of Heaven- a citizen of the Kingdom of God.

This makes me a foreigner here, in this world- what the Bible calls an evil age. I’m not ruled by the person the Bible calls the Prince of this world, the Devil. I should have different customs and ways of speaking. I live life fully here, get involved here, but my identity is as a citizen of the Kingdom of God. Does this show in my life?

For some reason as soon as I open my mouth, people realise I’m not from here. I don’t understand why, my accent is perfect. I never make Spanish grammar mistakes- if you had been there on Sunday, you would have thought it was a Bolivian preaching. Mas o menos. But is that true for me as a citizen of the Kingdom of God? Can people see from my life and my speech and my habits that I am a citizen of the Kingdom of God and not this evil age? And not just negatively- not that I am not doing things, like swearing or getting drunk, but instead that my life is characterised by love, righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.

There is a certain amount of privilege in being a citizen of the UK. How much more to be a citizen of the Kingdom of God. Am I living like it?

Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

