Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | April 2, 2012

Prayer

Sometimes I feel like following Jesus is a cyclical journey- you keep on returning to the same places again and again. For example as a Christian you keep on coming back to the Cross, to the grace of God, to loving others. You don’t graduate in these things; you don’t master them, they can’t be ticked off a great big Christian-to-do-list.

At the moment I keep on returning to realising my own selfishness. I found this challenged when I got married, and then with each of our children- giving yourself to serve another person is hard. I feel like maybe I’ve got a bit better at it and then another baby comes along and I realise I haven’t really moved on at all.

I guess in this one of the reasons for the repeating cycles is that Jesus, the one I follow, is infinitely selfless and generous, infinitely loving and the depths of his grace are unfathomable. This means I can’t get to the bottom of it, I can’t fully understand it. And I want to be transformed into his likeness- so there is a lot of change that needs to happen. I need to keep on returning to these things.

The other thing God is challenging me on is in prayer. We have a week of prayer as a Church this week and aim to be meeting together throughout the week to support each other as we search for God and seek Him for our Church and city and families and friends. Prayer is something that I feel I take 3 steps forward in and then 2 back. Or more often that I would like 2 steps forward and 3 back. It is an immense gift and privilege that I can misunderstand and take as a duty far too quickly.

We will be praying for our Church, for our neighbours, friends and colleagues, for our city and country, for Easter and our special children’s service and for the visit of Dave Gillard to preach and encourage us- he’s coming back in 2 weeks time.

As I come back to prayer again this week- and I will return to it many, many times- I am looking to spend time with my Heavenly Father and He promises to listen to me and change me. Incredible.

Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

