Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | February 13, 2012

Worship at Church

(No baby news yet…)

Worship at Fuente De Vida has been great recently. It feels like we are breaking through into something new. People have been engaging more, praying out and sharing Bible verses during the worship time.

This is what we were used to in Frontiers Church in Exeter, people actively participating and sharing in worship. Here at Fuente De Vida it has been difficult to encourage people to share in this way.  I’m not sure if the South American culture makes it a little harder, Churches here may be lively or more formal but are generally very heavily front-led.

In the last few weeks there has been a real sense of God’s presence with us. I’ve been really encouraged by what other people have prayed and shared- God has spoken to me through them. I love to worship God in Spanish, there is something powerful and amazing about praising our Creator and Redeemer in another language. And yet I can get distracted, sing without realising Who it is I am singing to. Go through the motions because I am so used to worshipping at Church. Not engage with the Almighty Living God who deserves and desires my worship and adoration. Other people participating in worship breaks that in me. I find I am drawn in by other peoples prayers and truths that they share. It is so powerful.

Last week I was watching Chloe and Ezekial (her best friend in the whole world) playing and dancing during the worship. They were so free to clap and dance and spin around with joy (and also to roll around on the floor, but we won’t go into that), and it made me think how God wants us to become like little children. Free to enjoy Him, to love Him, to adore Him. It feels at the moment that God is leading us into a greater freedom in worship.

Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

