Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | October 15, 2011

L-plates

One thing that is interesting about learning Spanish is the whole process of learning a new skill. As a teacher it is good for me to experience learning from the other side of the situation and think about how my students may be feeling as I teach them pythagoras.

I have a lesson every week and it is amazing how up and down it goes, sometimes I have a great lesson, sometimes I cannot even remember basic words. I don’t know if it is getting older and my brain slowing down or that when I’m tired my processing speed drops rapidly.

With my lessons I get very aware that when I’m doing a topic where the gap between what I already know and what I am trying to learn is too big, it can get frustrating and I need to go slow.

Then there is the guilt when I’ve not done my homework properly and don’t have a good reason, and the desire to make sure that the homework isn’t just going through the motions, but is a learning activity that I can make progress with. I find that I can easily be a lazy learner and not put enough hard work in outside lessons.

These are all things I want to bear in mind when I teach- how the students feel, their frustrations, guilt, also their laziness sometimes…

The other thing though is the massive sense of achievement I get when I realise I have learnt something new- a new phrase or rule- and I can use it in conversation! And be understood!

Then I think that Jesus was  a teacher- a Rabbi- and a brilliant teacher at that. People hung on his every word. He lived his teachings. He spoke and taught with incredible authority. He made his students uncomfortable sometimes and challenged them to learn and change.

And He does the same with me. I also wear L-plates as I follow Jesus. He is patient when I mess up and don’t put effort in. He is careful not to give me too much to work on all in one go and only reveals things that need to change gradually.

I can’t imagine mastering Spanish… or following Jesus. But I do have the best teacher.

Responses

  1. […] The other thing though is the massive sense of achievement I get when I realise I have learnt something new- a new phrase or rule- and I can use it in conversation! And be understood!” Read the whole thing here […]

  2. HEY! I have just caught up on a whole lot of Ben and Roz news. So good to see you and see what God has been doing through you. Good to see pictures of you with family too. We think of you often and talk about lots and will continue to pray for you all.
    X X X X X

  3. For someone who`s just moved to Mexico to be part of the church there, this was encouraging to read. I`m also going through the language learning battle….despacio!

    God is in charge and helps us through poco a poco. Muy bien.


Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

