Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | June 30, 2011

In the middle of adopting

I wanted to try and express how things are at the moment- something of how we feel.

Our daughter was actually born on Tuesday! Yesterday for me was a really emotional day, it did feel similar to when Chloe was born- we are parents again! We have another daughter!

However we have not actually met her yet. All we want to do is start looking after her, caring for her and cuddling her (Roz is less keen on starting to change nappies to be honest), but we will have to wait a few days until her birth mother comes out of hospital.

It is slightly surreal. I keep on thinking about her, but have no image of her yet. I want to hold her and tell her my hopes and dreams for her, but haven’t touched her yet.

When we were reading and praying about adoption, this is not what I imagined- a limbo stage where nothing is sure yet. A here, but not yet ours stage.

We are so thankful to God for her new life and it is amazing to think that while we know nothing of our daughter yet, He knows the number of hairs on her head (does she have a lot of hair I wonder), He knit her together, she is made in His image, He cares so deeply for her.

I can’t wait to meet my daughter!

Responses

  1. Ok you have forced me to finally break my blog comment silence. You made me cry Ben!!! What beautiful words. You are so very blessed and I hope for these to be very happy first days for you all. xxx

    • Sarah welcome onboard the blog! You are always welcome to comment!

  2. Wow! Congrats to you both. Hope she’s with you soon. Praying for you all.
    Loadsalove, Malc & Gail xxx

  3. So thrilled to hear your amazing news, you must feel a huge sense of relief to have your new baby girl home with you after the wait and uncertainty. What an immense blessing to you and you will be to her. Much love to you all.


Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

