Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | May 3, 2011

Memories

Just a little warning, this post is going to be slightly melancholic.

I feel that normally I live very much in the present, I don’t worry loads about the future or dwell on the past. Yesterday, though, was different.

Turning 30 felt like a bit of a marker and I couldn’t help but think back. This was especially true as my friend Tom was with us. I have known Tom all my life. Our Mums were on the same maternity ward together when we were born and we have kept in touch ever since, celebrating lots of birthdays together!

He is one of those friends who I don’t see loads- probably more so now we have moved here I guess- but when we see each other we get along well straight away. I’ve really appreciated him coming to visit as I do all our visitors- it is so encouraging when people come out to see us.

The other thing that took me back were my presents. Both Tom and Roz bought me lego for my birthday (entirely appropriate for someone turning 30) and I was thinking of all the quality time we had spent together playing with lego. Chloe is into duplo at the moment but I feel she will love lego too.

Tom has left to go home this morning so I feel a bit down. I thank God for good friends like him. And for lego obviously.

(Apologies for the slightly self-absorbed nature of this!)

Responses

  1. Don’t apologise Ben. It’s exactly what those of us praying for you at home need to hear. We love you loads. Si Pip and Beth x

  2. what are you.! even when you are self confessed down you still manage to put a smile on the faces of others. Your humour always shines through even when you are not feeling funny. We love you lots and will get the lego out this afternoon. Love the Willmotts

  3. I always love to hear you telling a bit about you, yourself, Benjamin Powell! What you are feeling, thinking about, experiencing and doing… It’s amazing to have kept a friend for 30 years and also one that will travel to the other side of the globe to see you after you have emigrated. That really just goes to show how you don’t really have a selfish bone in your body.:-)


Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

