Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | February 7, 2011

Predicando- Preaching

I love preaching. I love listening to people teach and preach from God’s word (admitedly a little harder when in Spanish. Okay, a lot harder) and I also love to preach myself.

However, it is not as straightforward as that. It takes me a long time to prepare a sermon and I always seem to have a difficult week in some way just before the Sunday- I seem to be more moody or stressed or generally sinful. So just before preaching I am very aware of how inadequate I am and half wish I wasn’t going to preach. This happens every time. I should be used to it by now.

Being translated is an added complication. I feel a bit removed from the Church and that communication is harder. I find humour difficult too, although this is also true in normal life- when in Spanish conversations I catch myself laughing but have no idea what was said that was funny.

As a result of these difficulties I only preached a couple of times last year. When visiting Frontiers Church, Andy, the Pastor, challenged me to use the gift more. I was also given a word by Stu about the gift of preaching being like a manhole with a massive shaft beneath it- it was something weighty and permanent. However it was covered up by leaves and was hard to see. I feel that the language difficulties and translation issue is like the leaves. They seem like big problems but actually are only temporary whereas the gift is permanent.

So as we returned to Santa Cruz I spoke to David about preaching regularly this year and preached yesterday (which went well) and will again next week, about Jesus and the woman at the well. Please pray- that God will speak through me and I will take my eyes off myself and how I feel and trust in Him, His Spirit and His word to speak and change people. After all, I love preaching.

Responses

  1. Preach it out brother! it is a joy, and you are not alone in the hours needed and having a tough time just before / after 🙂

  2. Hello! Mate haven’t looked at the blog for a while and then came on and saw this – ‘Yes!’ Your preaching gift is massive and so is your humility so that combination is dynamite – Our loss is Bolivia’s gain 🙂 So excited at the thought of you preaching there because I have such good memories of you preaching here. God bless you all.


Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

