Posted by: powellsinsantacruz | February 19, 2010

Absence of familiarity

This is something I wrote when we first moved here so its a bit late now, but here goes anyway…

I feel a bit like I’ve been ripped from a Ben shaped hole where I know what’s happening, have friends, am comfortable, understand the game rules and have a pattern of life to somewhere alien, totally outside my comfort zone where nothing seems familiar.

The day after we arrived one thing I kept on thinking about was where was our ‘stuff’? Where are the photos, pictures, and clutter that we are used to in our flat? Is my well-being so closely linked to material stuff? Is it just that with so much change I want to see something familiar? And why didn’t we pack more photos and pictures to put up on the walls of this house? Surely we don’t need so many clothes?

What do I depend on? I guess the ‘correct’ answer must be God- but this is when I find out how true that is. He is familiar- if I can say that about the Ultimate reality who I cannot comprehend. He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. He never changes, He is the Lord. I know that the answer is not stuff but knowing God. All else will pass away but He will remain. I just need to live this way.

Responses

  1. Dear Ben, You are so open & honest – all your feelings & thoughts are so normal & natural – it would be rather odd if you weren’t feeling like that. Hang on in there, it will gradually fel like home, I’m sure there are some Bolivian touches around already! Can’t wait to Skype! We love you all very,very muchand ae praying loads. Mum

  2. Dear Ben & Roz & Chloe,

    Your resolve is being severely tested. Hold on to all you know to be true and remember the Eternal God is your Refuge and underneath are the Everlasting Arms (Deut 33 v 27).

    You are very much in our thoughts and prayers

    Keith & Lois


Leave a reply, go on, you know you want to.

Categories

